Motor doesn't kick in on mount

• Does this ever happen to anyone? You place your OneWheel on the ground, click the power button, step onto the board and attempt to bring it to level, and instead of the self-balancing mechanism kicking in, you just keep going and fall of the other end of the board??

This has happened to me 3 times in the past few days, and it's making me hesitant when I try to mount it now. I want to trust that it's going to do what it's supposed to do, not throw me off immediately. (Also, I've been riding for 3 months, so I'm not a newbie at it.)

• I often have the same problem.. It's a bit embarrassing when you're showing someone how good it is..

• @thegreck I've noticed this happens when I switch sides the sensor is on (as in left foot on sensor instead of right). Even though I think my foot is providing weight to both sensors, it really isn't. As soon as I focus on keeping my foot flat and try it, then it works. Maybe this is your problem too.

• You need to do the push test before trying to mount. Turn it on, then with your foot give the board a shove. When it's ready it won't roll..

• It could be:

1.) The board wasn't at rest properly on the ground when powered on (in which case you get warning blinks).

2.) The shoes you are wearing. I just noticed the other day that a new pair of shoes with what appears to be completely flat bottoms doesn't play well with the OW sensor. I actually thought for a bit the board was having an issue, but it turned out to be the shoes.

• @J-Glide Thanks, but I always ride with the sensor on the same foot (right foot, and I ride goofy), and this only happens when I've just turned it on. I'm wondering if there's some kind of time I need to wait until it's ready? Maybe I'm hopping on too quickly and need to wait until the light is blinking?

• @thegreck It could be, or maybe you inadvertently do the same thing as I do riding your regular way. I think Parrothd, and lynnpreston may be onto something too.