First ride!

• Ordered my OW May 4 and it arrived today, woot! Spent a few minutes learning how to ride on it and then took it for a ride. Logged about 8.5 miles on it so far, with about 4 of those offroad (dirt road and some sand). Handles various surfaces really well!

But I can tell how out of shape I am that just riding around on it exhausted me. My legs are burning! Of course that's probably also technique - being it's my first time on one, my technique is pretty poor and I'm probably spending a lot more time actively balancing than I should.

Anyway, very excited and looking forward to improving. :-)

alt text

• @nautiboy This is Awesome, You will so get better the more you ride. My legs killed me the first few rides I did as well, and It will get better and better. So much fun!!

• Awesome post and great pic! Thanks for sharing. It's always exciting the first ride.

• @nautiboy congrats man ! welcome to the OW-fam haha. yeah, i remember when i first started - those sore calves and shins .. to be honest: it's always good if you try to Balance even though the OW does most of the job in this regard. it will help you to recover easily from drops and bumps in the long run. saved me a few times from hitting pavement - especially in the beginning.

a few thoughts: just keep it down a notch when talking about speed on rough terrain an asphalt. don't go for max speed yet. in fact, what i suggest is to change to "elevated" mode so you get a feel for when you're going too fast. if you only practice riding in "extreme", the pushback is way to subtle and you might miss it. elevated is actually very suitable for starting out. all the friends i showed how to ride preferred elevated. pushback kicks in more noticeably and you can't ride at the OWs limit yet.