Funny self discovery...

• Was going to post this for a bit, but hadn't got around to it. Here it is:

So, I started learning to surf last year. I'm land-locked (Phoenix, Az) so only get to make it out a few times a year. I've been progressing, but not near as quickly as my peers and it's been a little frustrating. This is the main reason I chose the OW. SOmething I can practice on, between outings to the coast and work on my chops (Balance, turning, body positioning/muscle memory, etc).

Last trip out to SanO about 3 weeks ago, I took the OW with me, right after I got it so I could get accustomed to it and learn to ride it, when waves are flat.

Got on it first time like I do since started surfing. Wobbly as hell. Check tire pressure, made sure nothing was loose, etc. Tried second time and same thing. Put it away and had lunch and to collect my thoughts, on the matter.

A few hours after lunch, decided to give it another go, hopped on and less than say 10 seconds, found my balance and rolled on down the street, with hardly and issue.

Weird, I thought to myself, after I stopped a way down the road.

Got back on, noticed I was still really solid and realized something....

I was on the OW "goofy footed". I had been surfing since day 1, Regular foot and started trying the OW Regular.

How funny is that?

I didn't get a chance to get back out on the waves since, had to leave early after that due to a work issue that popped up, but def will try Goofy Foot when I get back out to San Onofre, in a few weeks.

And I have tried "regular foot" on the OW a few times since. Still suck on it, that way. ROFL.

I found it a humorous self-discovery and figured I could share the laugh. Also, maybe it would help someone who is also having difficulties, starting out on the OW. Try switching your footing up.

• PS: The right shoes do make all the difference in the world too, as many have pointed out.