New Rider

• So today is my first day with my OW+. I've never really ridden a skateboard, or a snow board, or any other board sport. I'm about as green as green gets. I bought pads and a helmet, because I'd rather be safe than sorry.

I put about 9 miles on it today and got to about 13 MPh. I had a shit ton of fun. I have no relatable experience here so any words of wisdom on any of my points are appreciated.

Dismounting is challenging. It got better as the day went on but trying to keep my pant legs away from the wheel seemed to be a challenge. It got caught once or twice.

I'm right handed and it seemed easier to ride with my right foot on the main sensor. But right turns are significantly more difficult. Maybe it's that I don't trust myself. Is there anything that makes the right turn easier?

I was disappointed with the grip tape as the back one started to lift on day one. Maybe it's the Texas heat? Maybe the grip tape just sucks?

I'm going to have to spend some serious time getting comfortable with my left foot leading. My legs were rather sore as well. I was surprised at how tiring keeping your balance felt.

Thanks for reading, again any other comments are appreciated. I've read all the other newbie posts several times in anticipation of today.

• There is no reason to ride with your left foot leading if you feel more comfortabele the other way...
    The turns will get easier, just take the time to practice slowly...

• @Polle the only reason I thought to get comfortable riding with my non dominant foot was more for reversing than anything else. Do you not reverse very often?

My neighbor and I set up some cones yesterday and practiced going in and out. So I wasn't just trying to see how fast I could go. I'll do that some more because that seemed helpful.