NYC Riders - Help out a TOTAL Newbie?

• anyone here this weekend? I just got a OW+ this week, and i am objectively terrible at it - casually ate sh-t in my boyfriend's living room just going back and forth lol. anyone have the time and patience to hang out with me for a little bit and help me figure it out? I'm in ABC!

• Hey I'm not in NYC but got mine a month ago and had similar experience eating shit in my living room. Looking back, a) it's a lot easier outside in open spaces....indoors the walls come at you fast and easy to panic when not used to the thing, and b) find a level grassy/soft area and practice getting on, going a little, getting level, and jumping off with both feet A LOT. The one-heel-up stop is slick but it's the 2-foot jump off that will save you whenever you feel unstable or out of control. The learning curve is steep but quick....after only a few hours it really started to take for me. Good luck!

• I totally agree with @el_puente ... flat open spaces with no cars are best. It takes a lot of skill to ride indoors successfully.

• I live over in UWS, probably late to help this weekend, but during the week maybe?

Here's a list I made, posted elsewhere.

Wear all the pads for the first 100 miles or more

Work on dismounting.

Put your front toes at or just over the edge, make yourself lift the heel. Start getting into this position as you slow down, not when you come to a stop.

Jump off the board with both feet if you start to lose your balance at a stop. Better to have the board fall over than to spin out from underneath you and take out some poor kid. Practice this before you actually have to stop from taking out a child.

Pay attention and listen to your body.

Work on becoming more aware of where your feet/hips/shoulders are when you ride. You can help yourself slow down by
    pulling your hips back to shift your weight slowly.

Practice slow acceleration and hard braking. Braking > acceleration.