Random rapid acceleration, board won't stop

• I got a onewheel+ about a month ago and had to send it back the same week for a two problems (battery wouldn't charge and psycho acceleration thing). Just got the board back today and went for a nasty spill over the front from issues that prompted me sending it back in the first place. Saga below:

• I've been snowboarding for 20 years, have skated, have ridden segways and self balancing devices without issue
    • Get the onewheel and take it around the block the first few times in sequoia. Found the other shapings loosey goosey for the first few tries so went with training wheels mode. Start feeling confident and carving and riding faster. Mid block the motor starts accelerating noticeably without me leaning forward and the nose starts coming up sharply. I don't feel in control at all and the nose keeps rising while the tail eventually starts scraping against the ground. Scraping against the ground is what slows me down and brings me to a stop. Afterwards when I try to mount the board again it won't engage. I just step straight down to the ground on the nose with no balancing help.
    • I power off and power on and the board engages as normal and I ride straight home because I'm pretty freaked out by the whole "not being able to stop" thing
    • I start doing research and come across push back. I was riding in sequoia so figure it's a possibility that I hit the 10mph max and the nose started coming up on me. I don't understand why the motor would be accelerating and not stop as I was leaning back and scrapping against the ground but oh well, I chalk it up to being new.
    • Next day, I take everyone's advice and switch over to Mission mode. I get the hang of it quickly and start getting the feel of leaning into turns to accelerate while carving and get the first glimpse of the snowboarding sensation. "Hooray for mission mode!" I assume push back was at fault.