Accident log

• @wheeler If you find yourself flying FORWARD when the board accelerates, you're riding it incorrectly and you would benefit by correcting it.

Think about if you're standing on the hood of a car. If the car suddenly moves forward, you'll fall BACKWARDS. This is what the Onewheel is expecting to happen when it speeds up.

However, you're standing on the front bumper and leaning forward, when the car takes off it'll just launch you like a catapult.

• @kbman Nice video! But his "Ollie" looks like a great way to crush your fingers!

• I am still learning too but I don't think going back to classic will prevent this completely. Especially going down a hill. Like many others I learned by doing even after reading the advice. All I can say it is very hard to get back on the board if you get too far forward and go down any hill. I second @thegreck advice although I have a long way to go for skills.

• To elaborate on @thegreck's initial reply, you don't really lean forward to get speed, you press forward. When we recently rode around Golden Gate Park, I brought with a friend who had never ridden before. The way I described it to him was to imagine a vertical line from the center of the tire all the way up to his head. He wanted to stay centered on or very slightly behind that line. Riding with knees slightly bent to help absorb the shock of bumps and things, pick a foot to use for steering, and the other foot for speed control. I ride normal (left foot forward), so I use my front/left foot for speed control (press for speed, lift to slow), and my rear/right foot for steering (push down with my toes for a right turn, lift my toes up for a left turn).