Best shape for the best terrain?

• I’m a noob, riding Onewheel for a week now own a boosted board for last 3 years which is now useless since I started riding the OW. I was riding at a park the other day all lawn with a small 30% grade grassy hill in front of me, was in delirium mode going about 12.5 mph and nose dived right at the beginning of the hill, Landed on my right side rib cage been in pain for the last four days. I don’t blame the board (wheel slip on grass may have contributed) but would like to know if being in “elevated” would’ve saved me or should I just slow down when coming to an incline and then gradually go up the hill rather than hard charge, been riding in delirium for every terrain but now feeling I should rethink that. What’s the best modes for different terrain any advice? I’ve read the descriptions of each mode but need some real use advice from you guys!

• Welcome aboard @jwheelin!

Hang in there! Here's a few tips that have helped me - I've only owned mine a few months, with almost 500 miles under my belt.

1. Put your front foot as close to the wheel as possible and put your back foot as far back as possible. This keeps your weight back, making it easier for the OneWheel to lift up your front end when necessary.
    2. Off-roading puts considerably more stress on the motor, meaning you can't go as quickly, and must act more gingerly around hills. (friction!) Think about how fast you can pedal a mountain bike on pavement vs. a grassy field.
    3. Understand what may stress your Onewheel motor, like hills, speed, or a combo of the two.
    4. Ride as if you will be pitched forward at any moment, so you'll be alert.
    5. If you do hit the ground, use your arms to encourage a roll, not to keep your chin, chest, etc. from making contact.
    6. Don't go faster than 15mph on the street - this is plenty fast for me, and has kept me upright so far. If this feels too slow, you might need more pads, and more practice.