Spend My Money -- Newbie Recommendations

• Hey All -- new to OW, new to the forum, and pumped to be joining the community!

My board is set to ship on 7/23 and I'm new to board sports, but consider myself athletic for a bigger guy (32 years old, 6'2, 240 lbs). I'm so pumped to start riding, learning, and mastering the OW.

I found Newbie posts all over the forums but none of them answered many of my specific questions, so I thank you in advance for indulging yet another newbie post.

My Goal: I have several great bike/running trails around my house that I would like to cruise on. I even have a 17-mile trail that runs to my work that I may eventually try to ride to. I have no big intentions to be a speed demon or grind rails at this point.

~Preparation~
    I'm at my ideal weight around 220, so I'm spending July biking and working out as much as possible to be trim and ready for my first few rides as an owner. I also bought a balance board to work on my foot and ankle endurance, as I could tell when I demo'd the OW that I needed it. Are there any exercises, training, tools, or prep you are doing or wish you did in advance of your OW arriving?

~Gear~
    I've seen these forums run the gamut, from "I don't wear anything" to "bubble wrap your entire body and be ready to fall". I'm not afraid of some early bails and wipeouts, but being new to board sports, and a father, and someone who travels and presents in front of people for a living, I need to be upright and want to be smart about protecting and minimizing against the scrapes and bruises (hopefully nothing worse) that this new sport will afford me. Here are my questions:

Full-face helmet?
    I ordered this full-face helmet one after reading some horror stories about gnarly faceplants and full-face scrapes. Haven't received it yet, but now I'm wondering if it is overkill. I also considered this helmet. Any thoughts or additional recommendations on a helmet?

Which wristguards?