Riding in Traffic - Best Practices

• Newbie here - still figuring things out - still not completely in control, but getting there. I live in the country - lots of two-lane backroads with little traffic, but no sidewalks or bike lanes.

Last weekend, I attempted a 9 mile trek to visit the kids. The 2nd road (about 2 miles in to the ride) on the route is more traveled. After the 3rd car went around me, I decided to turn around and head back home. The cars were just freaking me out.

So, what are the rules of the road? I’m very interested to hear everyone’s best practices for riding in traffic.

With traffic or against traffic?

If “with traffic”, is riding goofy better for seeing the traffic around you?

A bicycle mirror on my helmet definitely would have helped.

• @mtntrails I prefer to ride against traffic so I can see what's approaching, I would think from a legal stand point like bicycle traffic you get the shoulder of the roadway riding with the direction of traffic. But I would rather be able to see the idiot texting and driving that's about to smoke me so at least I might get the chance to dive out of the way?

• http://bikeeasy.org/blog/archives/1385/

With traffic. Almost always.

Cars aren't looking for you if you approach the wrong way. And if you do collide going the wrong way, your speeds are much higher (if you're going 15 mph, and the car is going 35 mph, you're choosing a 50 mph collision vs a 20 mph collision, F=mv^2 so that's a hit of over 4 times the force).

I ride in the city. Stay in bicycle lanes (or where bikes would be on the road). Keep your head on a swivel.

As far as goofy vs regular... ride whichever you're most comfortable. If you are truly ambipedal, riding goofy with traffic is probably best. But not enough to compromise your control.