XR not shutting down when front-foot lifted

• I'm still learning (my XR is only a week or so old), but I've run into a strange situation: Every once in a while, when I lift my heel to dismount...My OneWheel doesn't turn off. In the end, I'm forced to jump off the board.

Most of the time, the board then shuts down...but one time (when my dismount knocked the board on its side) the motor just started racing with no rider on it at all. I had to press the power button to stop the motor.

Is there anything that I can do locally to diagnose the problem?

• Call future motion. Not email... call em. Your front footpad is bad.

• @dhreiss I’d try putting the board on something like a milk crate where the wheel is not in contact with the ground. Make sure to turn the board on at its natural resting angle before putting it up. Once the wheel is suspended press just one side of the sensor pads and look to make sure the lights brighten, then do the same with the other side of the sensor pad and watching that the lights dim back down a few seconds later after pressure is removed from each sensor side. If the lights do not dim after removing pressure from either side of the sensor, contact future motion and explain this issue to them. If the lights dim after each side is released, engage both sensors. This should send your wheel spinning. Try to level the board and stop the wheel. Release pressure on one side of the sensor pad checking to make sure the motor disengages and repeat for the other half. If all this checks out then you need to work on your dismount technique. For me it’s easier to stand on the ball of my foot and lift my heel. The sensors are very close to the center of the pad so foot placement plays a big factor in disengaging the motor. Hopefully that solves your problem and you don’t have to deal with future motion about a faulty sensor pad but good luck and happy floating anyway!

• @tomfoolery