Laying Down Carves

• Hello Future Motion fans!

I've had my Onewheel XR for about two weeks now and it is literally changing my life. It's the smile maker.

My background is in snowboarding and I do love laying down a nice carve. I'm running the stock Vega tire at 15PSI (154lbs rider here) and with everything stock I'm starting to lay them down. I do have to say, it took a good few miles for the Vega to feel broken in.

Current ODO reading: 73 miles of pure joy.

The stoke is there now but I am still looking for more, aren't we all? Has anyone here focused on big long committed carves and done upgrades that have improved that ability?

Aftermarket foot pads? Tire upgrades? Rider mod?

Any input and upgrade recommendations based on positive experiences are welcomed!

• @SirCarvesAlot I come from a multi decade snowboarding/skating background, and can say that while the Vega is a fine tire to get familiar with on the OW it is holding the carving feeling back. The profile of the Vega is the problem. Like trying to carve on an oil drum. I went with the FF 6.0 tire and could not be happier. Considering u come from a board sport background you will thank me.

• @freshbread Agree! I did the same on my + and will soon put a FF 6.0 on my XR.

• @freshbread said in Laying Down Carves:

@SirCarvesAlot I come from a multi decade snowboarding/skating background, and can say that while the Vega is a fine tire to get familiar with on the OW it is holding the carving feeling back. The profile of the Vega is the problem. Like trying to carve on an oil drum. I went with the FF 6.0 tire and could not be happier. Considering u come from a board sport background you will thank me.

Hello @freshbread , good to "meet" you! Thanks for the response. I can definitely see that the Vega is quite flat and getting it on it's side is some work. It's almost like riding an extra wide snowboard and trying to go from heel to toe or vice versa.